Thursday, February 2, 2023
Daily TipsiPhone

How to use ‘Breakup Mode’ in iOS 16

iOS 16 dubs a feature commonly called “Breakup Mode.” It allows you to, in the Photos app to display particular persons, such as an ex-partner, less frequently or not at all. 

Here’s how to use it to show folks less in the Photos app itself:

° Launch Photos.

° Open a photo of the person whom you wish to see less often.

° Tap the three-dot menu icon in the upper-right corner.

° Tap Feature This Person Less at the bottom of the menu.

° You’ll see two options: Feature This Person Less or Never Feature This Person.

° Choose which one you prefer and tap Confirm.

Choosing to feature them less or not at all means they’ll appear less frequently or not at all in Memories.

Here’s how to use it to show folks less in your People album:

° Launch Photos.

° Select Albums at the bottom.
° Open the People album.

° Tap the face of the person whose mug you wish to remove.

° Tap the three-dot icon.

° Tap Remove [name] from People.

If you’ve enabled Cloud Photos, the People album will be updated on all your other devices that meet these minimum system requirements: iOS 11 or later, iPadOS 13 or later, and macOS High Sierra 10.13 or later.

Dennis Sellers
the authorDennis Sellers
Dennis Sellers is the editor/publisher of Apple World Today. He’s been an “Apple journalist” since 1995 (starting with the first big Apple news site, MacCentral). He loves to read, run, play sports, and watch movies.