Apple’s Messages is a very handy tool. If you use it as much as I do, you may end up with a long stream of messages or conversations and need to delete some of them. It’s easy.
However, you should note that when you delete a message or conversation, you can’t get it back. It’s gone forever. So make sure that you save important information from your messages.
Done? Okay, let’s continue.
To Delete an Entire Conversation
- Open the Messages app.
- Find the chat list.
- Swipe left on the conversation.
- Tap the Trash or Delete icon and confirm.
To Delete a Single Message
- Open the conversation.
- Touch and hold the message bubble.
- Tap More.
- Select the checkmark on messages to remove, then tap the Trash icon.
To Empty Recently Deleted
- Tap Filters or the three lines/dots at the top of the chat list.
- Select Recently Deleted.
- Choose the items to permanently remove and tap Delete.




